Lossiemouth.co.uk » Featured http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk Just another WordPress weblog Mon, 02 Nov 2009 09:36:25 +0000 http://wordpress.org/?v=2.8.5 en hourly 1 The Golf Dedication Centre http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/88/the-golf-dedication-centre/ http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/88/the-golf-dedication-centre/#comments Mon, 02 Nov 2009 09:36:25 +0000 admin http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/?p=88 Looking for a great place to tee off? A vacation, after all, is incomplete without a chance to test those nine irons in a quiet, out of the way place where it’s just you and the great outdoors, in the lap of nature at her freshest, greenest best…

The Golf Dedication Centre brings you all of this, and more. Nestled in one of the most picture perfect settings in all of Scotland, it is just adjacent to the Lighthouse, and offers a breathtaking view of the town, as well as the spectacular Moray Firth.

They have a 12 bay driving range that faces the lighthouse. The beautiful view is not the only thing on offer, though, as this course also comes replete with the latest electronic pop up trees. Also, they have a 3 par 9 hole pitching put up for fun time with the whole family, and you even have the option of booking a PGA professional on the site itself for personalized lessons. They also maintain the best stocked golf accessories shop in Moray, with custom fitting items from all major brands, including Cobra, Wilson, Mizuno, Sunderland, Glenmuir and PGA Collection. The staff will be more than happy to assist you with the right buy for your equipment.

So come to the Golf Dedication Centre, and blast off your vacation in Lossiemouth to an exciting start.

]]>
http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/88/the-golf-dedication-centre/feed/ 0
Elgin Cathedral, Lossiemouth http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/25/elgin-cathedral-lossiemouth/ http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/25/elgin-cathedral-lossiemouth/#comments Fri, 10 Jul 2009 19:12:31 +0000 admin http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/?p=25 Residing in the northern part of Scotland, in Moray District, exists what is now the ruins of what was a once great and old structure. Lossiemouth can claim this great structure as its own. The Elgin Cathedral, which is referred to in many texts as the “Lantern of the North”, is an early place for the emerging and strengthening presence of churches and cathedrals dedicated to the Holy Trinity.

In that century the seats of Papal authority existed in surrounding areas both close and far away from Elgin itself. The position and residence of that seat was held by Bishop Bricius. For his own personal reasons and possibly for a greater cause, the petition was a success in 1224 when it was finalized. The original cathedral remained in its prior position in Spynie until the successor to Bricius who was in power when the cathedrals institution in Elgin was confirmed.

It is a unique structure when looked at in from an architectural perspective compared to other structures in Scotland. The houses, or chapters of the facility were octagonal and were a pronounced feature that attract much attention from tourists and historians to this day. Those parts of the cathedral are mostly intact to this day, a testament to their strength and engineering.

The century after being built held some chaos for the cathedra. In the space of the 12 years from 1390-1402, it was both burned and attacked two separate times. The Earl of Buchan and the Isle Lord; as well as their follers, were respectively responsible, for both acts of destruction.

Attempts to reconstruct and repair the cathedral as well as the structures on its grounds met with minimal success in the 15th and 16th centuries. As befell so many of the other structures of the day, Elgin Cathedral fell prey to the abandonment of the Scottish Reformation. Use of the building was pretty much abandoned and forgotten until the 19th century, and the early 20th century.

Preservation on Elgin Cathedral began in the early portion of the 1800s and quite sometime later in the last half of the 20th century the restoration of the block work was completed. The restoration made the structure stable and it appears to have risen from the ruins. Although not restored to the full glory it saw in its prime, the Elgin Cathedral still stands as a beautiful piece of architecture and is well worth the visit.

]]>
http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/25/elgin-cathedral-lossiemouth/feed/ 0
Moray District-Lossiemouth’s Home http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/15/moray-district-lossiemouths-home/ http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/15/moray-district-lossiemouths-home/#comments Fri, 10 Jul 2009 16:03:18 +0000 admin http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/?p=15 The main town in the district known as Moray, is Elgin. Being the main town and center of much of the activity, it lies five miles south of Lossiemouth, which used to be the primary port area serving the Moray Elgin residents. The heart of the whisky production in Scotland is housed here, and it is a simple jaunt to start here and explore much of the coastal areas as well.

The city of Elgin is the bustling center of the area with many stylish shops and a highly pedestrian-oriented transportation base. In fact, it is rather high in the frequency of variety and specific shops compared to surrounding areas and communities. High Street has many 19th century buildings towering over the main walkway and is a sight of magnificent viewing to those who tour here or reside there.

Lady Hill once carried the full structure of Elgin Castle, however little more than a shambles or remnant of the original castle remains today. Most of the people say the climb is worth it though if only to get a panoramic view of the entire land below. Elgin Cathedral, the town’s prominent church facility, dates all the way back to 1224 and stands as a testament to its importance and prominence; having been dubbed the “Lantern of the North.” Also contained within the cathedrals grounds are many representations of Pictish culture and many crosses exhibiting the craft by those people so many centuries ago.

The Moray Society runs a museum, one of Britain’s oldest facilities of its nature, in Elgin. In 1842, the museum was built to showcase pieces from worldwide, abroad, and many of those from close to home. Currently around 26000 pieces find their resting place there for perusal by those who desire to learn a bit more about world and local history.

Pluscarden Abbey, a unique monastery, sits six miles from the Elgin’s town center. It is unique in the fact that it is still up and running with its intended and original purpose in mind; the housing and teaching of monks. It’s rare to see a medieval monastery still functioning in any capacity, much less its original. Moray District is a county full of ancient sights.

]]>
http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/15/moray-district-lossiemouths-home/feed/ 0
Lossiemouth’s Origins in Kinneddar http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/3/lossiemouth%e2%80%99s-origins-in-kinneddar/ http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/3/lossiemouth%e2%80%99s-origins-in-kinneddar/#comments Fri, 10 Jul 2009 04:31:06 +0000 admin http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/?p=3 Lossiemouth’s origins have been derived from five separate and distinct communities that were in the immediate area. These communities were Lossiemouth, Branderburgh, Seatown, and the ancient towns of Kinneddar and Stotfield. The roots deep into the past has helped to give Lossiemouth its character.

Existing in what some would call a shambles currently, the original nature of the lands comprising the town of Kinneddar have disappeared since their original formation. In the past, when the settlements were first formed in the area, they were called “Ferm Touns”. Essentially a collective of settlements and domiciles in a group to denote structure. The original placement of those facilities are now long gone. In current existence are evidence of a Pictish settlement having been in the area, as well as many large carved stone pieces. Dating these has placed the lands of Kinneddar to approximately the 8th or 9th century. Most likely a Christian continuance of the original faith, due to there having been many crosses found in the area as well.

The origin of the name, the town’s namesake is somewhat indiscernible. Richard, the bishop of the area at that time, resided there and established the diocese’s cathedral church in Kinneddar. Maps from the 16th century point out this farming community to have been named King Edwards, however the taking of the name from King Edward has been disputed by the Scottish National Library. Edward did stay in the facilities in the area though for a short while when traversing the country, showing that he had an iron grip on the area and everything was in control. It is thought that Kinneddar was likely misinterpreted as King Edward.

At that time, the castles at Elgin, Duffus and Kinneddar were English garrisoned. Robert the Bruce seized and capitalized upon King Richard’s preoccupation with matters in France and England by invading the area. This led to Bruce typically invading each castle, one after the other, and burning them completely to the ground. He was seeking to purge the English influence from the lands. Repelled twice at Elgin castle, he finally succeeded and the place was sacked. The Bishop of Moray’s assistance to Robert the Bruce led to the King excommunicating Bishop. Fleeing east to Norway, the Bishop of Moray later came back after Edward’s death. The village of Kinneddar remained fairly large up until the early 1800s, when it started fading away and merging with the eastern settlement of Lossiemouth.

]]>
http://www.lossiemouth.co.uk/3/lossiemouth%e2%80%99s-origins-in-kinneddar/feed/ 0